Day 450 – Sitting on nails

It is funny how everyone at the place I work right now dislikes their job and the place in general yet, they act surprised when they find out I am leaving.

I hear people complain about things all day long. They don’t make enough money or they are tired of being a temporary employee but, they do nothing about it. I talked to one guy who has been a temporary employee for over 2 years at $10 per hour. No raises, no benefits, and no promise of a permanent position. He likes to complain to anyone who will listen but, that is far as it goes.

It amazes me how little people will settle. What is even more amazing is how people will let someone else determine their worth. I believe that life will pay you exactly what you demand of it. There is a price to pay for what you ask and seek and there lies the problem.

If people are honest with themselves they will have to admit that the pain of doing something more is more unbearable that what they are going through now. If it was not, it would be easy for them to change. So they sit and complain and just take it.

I am thankful every day that I am not wired that way. I will try anything and rarely get scared. For me there is no greater pain than just settling for something.

dog-porch-720x2551Two men are sitting on a porch and there is a dog lying next to them just howling away. One man asks the dog’s owner what is wrong with the dog. “Oh he is laying on a nail” the other man says. The second man thinks for a second and then asks simply, “Why doesn’t he just get up and move?” The dog’s owner shrugs his shoulders and says, “I doesn’t hurt bad enough for him to move.”

Are you laying on a nail right now? Do you spend more time howling than actually doing something about it? Stop whining and make a change. Maybe it is a career nail. Maybe it is a financial nail or a relationship nail. You are the only one who can change it.

One thought on “Day 450 – Sitting on nails

Leave a comment